Congressional District 52
[Get Scott's free daily political newsletter | premium subscribers receive alerts and back-end data]

All Districts > CD52: San Diego
[incumbent: Scott Peters (D) - term limit: none]

Candidates On The Ballot- 2014

District Projection: Toss-up | ATC Partisan Index = 52.0 R
  • (i) Scott Peters (Democratic) - U.S. Representative  
  • Carl DeMaio (Republican) - Small Business Owner  
  • (i) = incumbent

    2012 Presidential Race

    • Barack Obama (D) 52.1%
    • Mitt Romney (R) 45.7%

    2010 Gubernatorial Race

    • Jerry Brown (D) 42.7%
    • Meg Whitman (R) 50.7%

    Hourly election night report

    June 3 Primary Election Results
    Live Results
    CandidateVotesPercentPrecincts Reporting
    Scott Peters (D)53,92642.3%397 of 397
    Carl DeMaio (R)44,95435.3%397 of 397
    Kirk Jorgensen (R)23,58818.5%397 of 397
    Fred J. Simon Jr. (R)5,0404.0%397 of 397

    County Breakdown | Vote Count Tracker
    Source: California Secretary of State

    District Map

    Display this map on your site.

    large map

    District Voter Registration


    After publicly contemplating running for mayor of San Diego following the resignation of Bob Filner, councilmember Carl DeMaio announced that he was staying in the race to take on first-term congressman Scott Peters. The race will likely be one of the most targeted in the country.

    The district stretches from the coastal half of San Diego, including downtown, to the conservative northern suburbs. This is the only congressional district in the state held by a Democrat that has a Republican voter registration edge, although with 28% of voters not declaring a party, that advantage may be deceiving. This is a true independent district, with a large swath of fiscally conservative but socially liberal voters.

    Scott Peters defeated incumbent Brian Bilbray in 2012 by 7,000 votes out of 296,000 cast, making this the closest congressional election in a great year for Democrats.

    The fiscally conservative Carl DeMaio, loathed by unions for his views on public pensions, brings a ne . . .

    More Analysis


    Reported Fundraising
    (Total for this cycle)
    CandidateContributionsExpendituresCash on HandDebtFiling Period Close
    Demaio, Carl$1,651,390$600,658$1,171,476$02014-05-14
    Jorgensen, Kirk$284,360$256,266$67,696$47,3362014-05-14
    Peters, Scott$1,919,745$425,063$1,523,929$02014-05-14
    Simon, Fred J Jr Md$35,695$242,851$1,046,136$1,253,0002014-05-14
    Source: Federal Elections Commission

    2012 General Results

    November 6 General Election Results
    Final Results
    CandidateVotesPercentPrecincts Reporting
    Scott Peters (D)151,45151.2%458 of 458
    Brian Bilbray (R)144,45948.8%458 of 458

    County Breakdown | Vote Count Tracker
    Source: California Secretary of State

    2012 Primary Results

    June 5 Primary Election Results
    Final Results
    CandidateVotesPercentPrecincts Reporting
    Brian Bilbray (R)61,93041.0%432 of 432
    Scott Peters (D)34,10622.6%432 of 432
    Lori SaldaƱa (D)33,38722.1%432 of 432
    Jack Doyle (N)6,1384.1%432 of 432
    John K. Stahl (R)5,5023.6%432 of 432
    Wayne Iverson (R)4,4763.0%432 of 432
    Shirley Decourt-Park (D)2,3681.6%432 of 432
    Ehab T. Shehata (N)1,1560.8%432 of 432
    John L. Subka (R)1,0910.7%432 of 432
    Gene Hamilton Carswell (R)8280.5%432 of 432

    County Breakdown
    Source: California Secretary of State


    2010 Census Demographics for CD52
    Citizen Voting-Age Population 12.8% 2.7% 9.4%
    Total Population 17.8% 3.1% 12.9%

    The Bench (likely future candidates)


    Comments on the race for Congressional District 52 via Facebook