The Gualco Group KBH Advocacy
advertise in The Nooner or on Around the Capitol or become a Nooner Sustainer
California Elections: Assembly District 79

Assembly District 79

All Districts > AD79: East San Diego
[incumbent: Dr. Akilah Weber (D-San Diego) - term limit: 2032 - Directory Page]

Districts will be redistricted in 2021 to take effect with the 2022 election.

Probable Candidates: 2022

District Projection: Safe Democratic
A special primary to fill the vacancy created by Shirley Weber's appointment as Secretary of State will be held April 8. If no candidate receives more than 50%, the top two candidates will face each other in a special general on June 6.
  • Akilah Weber (Democratic) - Doctor/Councilmember/Educator  
  • Aeramique Glass Blake (Democratic) - Restorative Justice Consultant  
  • Leticia Munguia (Democratic) - Community Organizer  
  • Marco Contreras (Republican) - Small Business Owner  
  • Shane Parmely (Democratic) - Public School Teacher  
  • (i) = incumbent

    Until the filing period closes, candidates who have made gestures to a run are included. Some of these may not run, while others are likely to jump in.


    With the swearing-in of Dr. Shirley Weber to succeed Alex Padilla

    Subscriber Log-in | Learn about subscriptions.


    District Geography

    County: San Diego (100%) of 268,037 registered voters.

    2018 Gubernatorial Race

    • Gavin Newsom (D) 63.3%
    • John Cox (R) 36.8%

    2016 Presidential Race

    • Hillary Clinton (D) 64.2%
    • Donald Trump (R) 30.0%

    2014 Gubernatorial Race

    • Edmund G. ("Jerry") Brown, Jr. (D) 59.4%
    • Neel Kashkari (R) 40.6%

    2012 Presidential Race

    • Barack Obama (D) 61.2%
    • Mitt Romney (R) 36.9%


    2010 Census Demographics for AD79
    Citizen Voting-Age Population 15.6% 11.6% 22.0%
    Total Population 18.0% 10.9% 33.8%

    The Bench (likely future candidates)