advertise on aroundthecapitol
California Elections: Assembly District 78

Assembly District 78

All Districts > AD78: Coastal SD
[incumbent: Todd Gloria (D-San Diego) - term limit: 2028 - Directory Page]

Probable Candidates: 2020

District Projection: Safe Democratic
2019-12-11 1700: While filing has closed for all non-special elections, lists are still pending from several counties. This candidate list will continue to be updated for several days. The official list will be published by the Secretary of State on December 26.
  • Sarah Davis (Democratic) - Businesswoman/Licensed Midwife   [$$$]
  • Micah Perlin (Democratic) - Nonprofit Technology Consultant   [$$$]
  • Chris Ward (Democratic) - Councilmember/Coastal Commissioner   [$$$]
  • (i) = incumbent

    Until the filing period closes, candidates who have made gestures to a run are included. Some of these may not run, while others are likely to jump in.


    After the state's term limits law change in 2012 that provides that State Senators and Assemblymembers can serve a total of 12 years in either house or a combination thereof, it is much more rare to find open seats, particularly as new classes came in under the new law. However, after only two terms, Assemblymember Todd Gloria is leaving the seat for a run for mayor of San Diego. That opens a safe Democratic seat.

    Subscriber Log-in | Learn about subscriptions.


    District Geography

    County: San Diego (100%) of 292,938 registered voters.

    2016 Presidential Race

    • Hillary Clinton (D) 67.5%
    • Donald Trump (R) 25.9%

    2014 Gubernatorial Race

    • Edmund G. ("Jerry") Brown, Jr. (D) 62.7%
    • Neel Kashkari (R) 37.3%

    2012 Presidential Race

    • Barack Obama (D) 63.1%
    • Mitt Romney (R) 34.1%


    2010 Census Demographics for AD78
    Citizen Voting-Age Population 6.6% 3.9% 12.1%
    Total Population 9.0% 4.4% 18.4%

    The Bench (likely future candidates)