Assembly District 65
[Get Scott's free daily political newsletter | premium subscribers receive alerts and back-end data]

All Districts > AD65: Fullerton
[incumbent: Sharon Quirk-Silva (D) - term limit: 2024]

Probable Candidates - 2014

District Projection: Toss-up | ATC Partisan Index = 51.6 R
  • Young Kim (Republican) - Small Businesswoman  
  • (i) Sharon Quirk-Silva (Democratic) - California State Assemblymember  
  • (i) = incumbent

    Until the filing period closes, candidates who have made gestures to a run are included. Some of these may not run, while others are likely to jump in.

    2012 Presidential Race

    • Barack Obama (D) 51.9%
    • Mitt Romney (R) 45.7%

    2010 Gubernatorial Race

    • Jerry Brown (D) 41.6%
    • Meg Whitman (R) 49.8%

    District Map

    Display this map on your site.

    large map

    District Voter Registration


    New analysis for this district is being prepared.


    Reported Fundraising
    (January 1-March 17, 2014 filing period)
    CommitteeContributionsExpendituresCash on HandContributions Since*
    Kim For State Assembly 2014, Young [SOS]$131,533$43,075$423,296$80,300
    Quirk-silva For Assembly 2014, Sharon [SOS]$188,071$48,318$451,657$93,200
    * = Contributions of $1,000 or more
    Source: California Secretary of State

    2012 General Results

    November 6 General Election Results
    Final Results
    CandidateVotesPercentPrecincts Reporting
    Sharon Quirk-Silva (D)68,98852.0%276 of 276
    Chris Norby (R)63,57648.0%276 of 276

    County Breakdown | Vote Count Tracker
    Source: California Secretary of State

    2012 Primary Results

    June 5 Primary Election Results
    Final Results
    CandidateVotesPercentPrecincts Reporting
    Chris Norby (R)29,91758.8%269 of 269
    Sharon Quirk-Silva (D)20,93641.2%269 of 269

    County Breakdown
    Source: California Secretary of State


    2010 Census Demographics for AD65
    Citizen Voting-Age Population 21.8% 3.8% 23.0%
    Total Population 24.5% 3.1% 38.8%

    The Bench (likely future candidates)

    Incumbent term limit: 0
    • Henry Chareon (R) - Councilmember, La Palma
    • Young Kim (R) - Staffer, Congressman Ed Royce
    • Bruce Whitaker (R) - Councilmember, Fullerton
    • ...[suggest additions]


    Comments on the race for Assembly District 65 via Facebook