Congressional District 20
[Get Scott's free daily political newsletter | premium subscribers receive alerts and back-end data]

All Districts > CD20: Monterey
[incumbent: Sam Farr (D) - term limit: none]

Probable Candidates - 2014

District Projection: Safe Democrat | ATC Partisan Index = 69.5 D
  • Ronald Paul Kabat (No Party Preference) - Certified Public Accountant  
  • (i) Sam Farr (Democratic) - United States Representative  
  • (i) = incumbent

    Until the filing period closes, candidates who have made gestures to a run are included. Some of these may not run, while others are likely to jump in.

    2012 Presidential Race

    • Barack Obama (D) 70.9%
    • Mitt Romney (R) 26.2%

    2010 Gubernatorial Race

    • Jerry Brown (D) 63.1%
    • Meg Whitman (R) 30.7%

    District Map

    Display this map on your site.

    large map

    District Voter Registration


    New analysis for this district is being prepared.


    Reported Fundraising
    (Total for this cycle)
    CandidateContributionsExpendituresCash on HandDebtFiling Period Close
    Source: Federal Elections Commission

    2012 General Results

    November 6 General Election Results
    Final Results
    CandidateVotesPercentPrecincts Reporting
    Sam Farr (D)172,99674.1%398 of 398
    Jeff Taylor (R)60,56625.9%398 of 398

    County Breakdown | Vote Count Tracker
    Source: California Secretary of State

    2012 Primary Results

    June 5 Primary Election Results
    Final Results
    CandidateVotesPercentPrecincts Reporting
    Sam Farr (D)68,89564.4%365 of 365
    Jeff Taylor (R)23,90522.3%365 of 365
    Mike Lebarre (R)5,4875.1%365 of 365
    Art Dunn (D)4,0953.8%365 of 365
    Eric Petersen (G)2,2112.1%365 of 365
    Ronald Paul Kabat (N)1,7331.6%365 of 365
    Dan Caudle (N)7030.7%365 of 365

    County Breakdown
    Source: California Secretary of State


    2010 Census Demographics for CD20
    Citizen Voting-Age Population 5.4% 3.2% 28.0%
    Total Population 5.3% 2.3% 50.7%

    The Bench (likely future candidates)


    Comments on the race for Congressional District 20 via Facebook